Steven Wright won the 1988 Oscar for Best Live Action Short for The Appointments of Dennis Jennings, shared with the film's director Dean Parisot.

None of the other comedians listed have ever been nominated for an Oscar in a competitive category.

Bob Hope was a stalwart of the Oscars, having hosted the ceremony 18 times and made great sport of his never being nominated as an actor ("Welcome to the Academy Awards, or as it's known in my house, Passover"). He received an honorary statuette in 1952 "for his contribution to the laughter of the world, his service to the motion picture industry, and his devotion to the American premise," and other honors he received from the Academy included a special silver plaque in 1940, a lifetime membership in the Academy in 1944 (the same year his onscreen nemesis Bing Crosby won the Oscar for Best Actor for Going My Way), the Jean Hersholt Humanitarian Award in 1959 and a gold medal "for unique and distinguished service to our industry and the Academy" in 1965.

Steve Martin became only the third actor in history to win the New York Film Critics Best Actor prize (for All of Me in 1984) not to go on to receive an Oscar nomination (the previous slights were Ralph Richardson for The Sound Barrier in 1952 and John Gielgud for Providence in 1977; although the separation became commonplace in the following years as Jeremy Irons in Dead Ringers (1988), David Thewlis in Naked (1993), Paul Giamatti in Sideways in (2004), Robert Redford in All Is Lost (2013), Timothy Spall for Mr. Turner (2014), Michael Keaton in Spotlight (2015) and Ethan Hawke in First Reformed (2018) were anointed by the Gotham Critics while being overlooked by the Academy) and has never been nominated in a comptetitive category by the Oscars despite hosting the ceremony several times and turning in acclaimed performances in Little Shop of Horrors and Roxanne. He starred in the The Absent Minded Waiter, which was nominated for Best Live Action Short in 1977, losing to I'll Find a Way. He won an honorary Oscar for lifetime achievement at the 2014 ceremonies.


Return to Jonny's Oscar Trivia Quiz