The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King tied the record for most Oscars in 2003, winning 11 statuettes including Best Picture despite not receiving any acting nominations. The only performer who was nominated for any of the films in The Lord of the Rings trilogy was Ian McKellen in the first installment, The Fellowship of the Ring (which he lost to Jim Broadbent in Iris, although McKellen did win a Screen Actors Guild Award for his performance as Gandalf in that film and would receive a BAFTA nomination for The Return of the King). The other films to win 11 Oscars were Ben Hur, which won the Best Actor and Best Supporting Actor awards, and Titanic, which was nominated for Best Actress and Best Supporting Actress.

The other films to win Best Picture without any acting nominations are:
Wings (1927/8)
All Quiet on the Western Front (1929/30)
Grand Hotel (1931/2)
An American in Paris (1951)
The Greatest Show on Earth (1952)
Around the World in Eighty Days (1956)
Gigi (1958)
The Last Emperor (1987)
Braveheart (1995)
Slumdog Millionaire (2008)
Parasite (2019)

Return to Jonny's Oscar Trivia Quiz