Lina Wertmuller for Seven Beauties in 1976, Jane Campion for The Piano in 1993, Sofia Coppola for Lost in Translation in 2003, Kathryn Bigelow, who became the first female winner of the award for The Hurt Locker in 2009, and Greta Gerwig for Lady Bird in 2016.

All but Seven Beauties were nominated for Best Picture with The Hurt Locker winning Bigelow a second Oscar in that category. Bigelow was surprisingly not nominated for her direction of Best Picture nominee Zero Dark Thirty (2012) which she also produced, netting her another nomination in that category.

Other nominees for Best Picture directed by women who were not nominated for Best Director are:

Children of a Lesser God (1986) directed by Randa Haines
Awakenings (1990) directed by Penny Marshall
The Prince of Tides (1991) directed by Barbra Streisand
Little Miss Sunshine (2006) co-directed by Valerie Faris and Jonathan Dayton
The Kids are Alright (2010) directed by Lisa Cholodenko
Winter's Bone (2010) directed by Debra Granik

Return to Jonny's Oscar Trivia Quiz